BC Teachers' Council

The BC Teachers' Council receives its mandate from the Teachers Act. It is responsible for establishing the standards for the education, competence and professional conduct required of applicants and educators in BC, setting teacher education program approval standards, and determining if teacher education programs meet these standards.

The Council is comprised of 16 elected and appointed members, 15 of whom are voting members. Of the 15 voting members of the Council, 5 are elected from among the teachers of the province, 3 are appointed directly by the Minister based on nominations from the BC Teachers' Federation, and the remaining 7 are appointed by the Minister from other education partner groups' nominations. One non-voting member is appointed to represent the Minister on Council. Appointments to the Council typically occur in April of each year. Nine members of this Council, 5 of whom must be from partner groups other than the BCTF, are also appointed to the Disciplinary and Professional Conduct Board from which disciplinary panels are formed.

The BC Teachers' Council is currently reviewing the Standards for the Education, Competence and Professional Conduct of Educators in BC. To support the review, the Teacher Regulation Branch gathered feedback from certificate holders, teacher candidates, education partners, students, parents, and the public in the spring of 2016 and in the spring of 2017. Read more about the review process.

The following lists the current Council members and the zones they represent or the education partner groups that nominated them.

Name   Nominating Organization or Electoral Zone Term Expires *
Janine Fraser Interior Zone April 2018 (E)
Laurence Greeff Fraser Zone April 2018 (E)
Matthew Cooke Northern Zone April 2018 (E)
John Hall Vancouver Coastal Zone April 2018 (E)
Fred Robertson Vancouver Island Zone April 2018 (E)
Cathy Lambright BC Teachers’ Federation April 2018 (A)
Jim Iker BC Teachers’ Federation April 2019 (A)
Rebecca Blair BC Teachers’ Federation April 2020 (A)
Teresa Rezansoff BC School Trustees Association April 2018 (A)
Susan Wilson BC Confederation of Parent Advisory Councils April 2019 (A)
John Tyler BC Principals' and Vice-Principals' Association April 2019 (A)
Jo-Anne Chrona First Nations Education Steering Committee April 2020 (A)
Ted Riecken Association of BC Deans of Education April 2020 (A)
Peter Van Huizen Federation of Independent School Associations April 2020 (A)
Jeffrey Jones BC School Superintendents Association April 2018 (A)
Paul Squires Ministry of Education At Pleasure

* (A) means the Council member was appointed; (E) means the Council member was elected.

Elections for the Council are held every three years. The next election will take place in the spring of 2018.

Call for Nominations – for the 2018 BC Teachers' Council Elections

Pursuant to Section 22 of the Teachers Act, this is a call for nominations for BC certified teachers to serve as members of the BC Teachers' Council for a three-year term. The BCTC has five seats that are selected by an election by certificate holders.

This call for nominations applies to all five zones. The term for a Council member elected or acclaimed will end in the spring of 2021. Completed nomination forms with original signatures must be received by the Teacher Regulation Branch on or before January 9, 2018. Forms that are incomplete, inaccurate or received after this deadline will not be accepted.

The nomination package, which includes the nomination form, is available now.